Hayward’s United States Gazetteer (1853) page 703

Click on the image for a larger version suitable for printing.


Page 702 ...Page 704

Note: Ctrl and + increases the font size of the text below, Ctrl and - decreases it, and Ctrl and 0 resets it to default size.


institution of a more comprehensive character, embracing in theory the entire system of schools for
the state. There are academies, or high schools, in different localities already in operation, which
are branches of this state university. The
college at Ann Arbor was opened in 1837. It has 7
instructors, who, according to the requisitions of the statute, are selected from different religious
denominations, and preside in rotation, in the college faculty. The site of the college buildings is on
an elevated plain, about three quarters of a mile from the centre of the town. Two fine buildings, of
the largest class, and four stories high, have been erected for the use of the students. Between these
it is intended to place a chapel, and then to extend the line in both directions, as the wants of the
institution may require. This range of buildings is to occupy one of the sides of an extensive
square area, on the two sides of which, at right angles with this, are to be houses for the professors,
four of which have been erected. On the side opposite to the colleges, a fine building has just been
completed for the use of the medical department in the university. The institution is fully provided
for from the income of the public lands appropriated for this purpose. It has a library containing
about 5000 volumes. The number of students in 1850 was 72. The commencement is on the third
Wednesday in July. Rev.
D. D. Whedon is president.


This new institution was founded November 4,1850, by the New York Baptist Union for Ministerial
Education, and its location established at Rochester. It has since received an act of incorporation
from the New York legislature. It has connected with it a theological department, styled the
Rochester Theological Seminary, which is open to students of all denominations. The plan of in-
struction in the university is peculiar, being so adjusted as to allow any who choose to omit the
study of Latin and Greek, substituting modern languages in their stead, and a more extended mathe-
matical and scientific course. Hence the students in each class are divided into two sections, the
classical and the scientific sections. The regular course extends through four years, at the expira-
tion of which those who have pursued the entire classical course are admitted to the degree of bach-
elor of arts, and those who have pursued the entire scientific course to that of bachelor of sciences.
Young men, not otherwise connected with the university, are permitted, if they desire it, to attend
the recitations of particular departments, provided they have the requisite preparation for the studies
of those departments. This is denominated the partial course. The libraries of the University, and
of the Theological Seminary, together amount to over
3000 volumes. A valuable cabinet of min-
erals has been secured. The number of students in the University, in
1851, was 109; and in the
Theological department,
29. The commencement is on the second Wednesday of July. Hon. Ira
Harris, LL. D., is the chancellor.


This institution, founded in 1839, is ranked with the colleges of the state. It is located at Lexing-
ton. In 1850 it had 6 instructors, 120 students, 107 graduates, and a library of 2500 volumes. Its
commencement is on the 4th of July. Colonel E. H. Smith is the superintendent.


This institution is located at Crawfordsville, in the valley of the Wabash, about 30 mile9 north-
westerly from Indianapolis. It was founded in
1833. One large college edifice, four stories high,
has been erected. Some
15 or 20 acres are enclosed for the college grounds, upon a part of
which the original forest trees are standing. The college has 6 instructors ; the number of students
1850 was 38; the libraries contain 6000 volumes. Commencement is on the Thursday nearest
to the 20th of July. Rev. Charles White, D. D., is president.


Established at Wake Forest, in 1838, under the direction of the Baptists. In 1860 it had 3 in-
24 students, and 4700 volumes in the library. Commencement is on the third Thursday
in June. Rev. John B. White president.


This institution, incorporated in 1806, is located at Washington, in Washington co., 26 miles
south-west from Pittsburg. It commenced operations under a new organization in
1830. The legis-
lature made an annual appropriation
of $500, towards the support of a professorship of English
literature, to prepare young men for teaching in common schools. By a standing rule, a certain
number of poor and pious young men may be educated without charge for tuition. In
1850 the
college had
8 instructors, 105 students, and 441 alumni; libraries, 3300 volumes. Commencement is
the last Wednesday in September. The president is Rev. James Clark, D. D.


Founded in 1783, at Chestertown. In 1827 the college was burnt down. Anew building was
erected, and the operations of the college revived in 1844. In 1850 it had 5 instructors and 70 stu

A Gdzetteer of the United Stdtes of Americd by John Hayward.

Hartford, CT: Case, Tiffany and Company. 1853. Public domain

This page is written in HTML using a program written in Python 3.2, and image-to-HTML-text by ABBYY FineReader 11 Professional Edition.