Gazetteer of New York, 1860 & 1861 page 028
Click on the image to view a larger, bitmap (.bmp) image suitable for printing.


Click on the image above for a larger, bitmap image suitable for printing.

GEDCOMINDEX.COM, scanned November 2013 by Tom Alciere.


The State Government consists of the Legislative, Executive, Judicial, and Administrative
Departments ; the powers and duties
of the several officers being defined by the Constitution and
regulated by law.

The State Legislature is composed of a Senate and Assembly.

The ^Senate consists of 32 members, chosen by single districts
every two years, the whole number being chosen at once. The
Lieut. Governor is
ex officio President of the Senate, and has a cast¬
ing vote in ease of a tie. The Senate appoints a President
pro tem.,
who presides in the absence of the Lieut. Governor, and becomes
ex officio Lieut. Governor in case of a vacancy in that office. The
Senate with the Judges of the Court of Appeals forms a court
for the trial of impeachments, and it ratifies or rejects the nomi¬
nations of the Governor to a great number of offices.

The Senate elects the following officers: a clerk, sergeant-at-
arms, assistant sergeant-at-arms, doorkeeper and assistants, libra¬
rian, and such other officers as may be deemed necessary

The Assembly consists of 128 members, elected annually by
single districts. The districts are re-apportioned once in ten
years, after the State census is taken. The Speaker, or Pre¬
siding Officer of the Assembly, is elected by the members from
their number, and usually appoints all committees. All bills
upon financial matters must originate in the Assembly.

The Assembly elects the following officers: a Speaker, clerk,
sergeant-at-arms, doorkeeper and two assistants. The Speaker
appoints an assistant sergeant-at-arms, a postmaster and assist¬
ant, a janitor, keeper of the Assembly chamber, and several
doorkeepers and pages

1 The sergeant-at-arms is also librarian. The clerk appoints
his deputies and assistants, and the President appoints a janitor,
superintendent of the Senate chamber, and pages. Committees
are usually appointed by the Lieut. Gov. The appointments are
made for two years: About half a dozen reporters are admitted
to seats within the Senate chamber. Standing committees in
the Senate consist of 3 members.


1. Queens, Richmond, and Suffolk Counties.

2. 1st, 2d, 3d, 4th, 5th, 7th, 11th, 13th, and 19th Wards of


3. 6th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 12th, 14th, 15th, 16th, 17th, and 18th

Wards of Brooklyn, and the towns of Kings County.

4. 1st, 2d, 3d, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, and 14th Wards of New


5. 10th, 11th, 13th, and 17th Wards of New York.

6. 9th, 15th, 16th, and 18th Wards of New York.

7. 12th, 19th, 20th, 21st, and 22d Wards of New York.

8. Putnam, Rockland, and Westchester Counties.

9. Orange and Sullivan Counties.

10. Greene and Ulster Countifes.

11. Columbia and Dutchess Counties.

12. Rensselaer and Washington Counties.

13. Albany County.

14. Delaware, Schenectady, and Schoharie Counties.

15. Pulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, and Saratoga Counties.

16. Clinton, Essex, and Warren Counties.

17. Franklin and St. Lawrence Counties.

18. Jefferson and Lewis Counties.

19. Oneida County.

20. Herkimer and Otsego Counties.

21. Oswego County.

22. Onondaga County.

23. Chenango, Cortland, and Madison Counties.

24. Broome, Tioga, and Tompkins Counties.

25. Cayuga and Wayne Counties.

26. Ontario, Seneca, and Yates Counties.

27. Chemung, Schuyler, and Steuben Counties.

®8. Monroe County.


29. Genesee, Niagara, and Orleans Counties.

30. Allegany, Livingston, and Wyoming Counties.

31. Erie County.

32. Cattaraugus and Chautauqua Counties.

2 The clerk appoints his assistants and deputies, a librarian
and assistant, a bank clerk, and a clerk’s messenger. These
officers are appointed for the session, except pages, who are
changed in the middle of each session. Standing committees of
the Assembly consist of 5 members, except those upon Ways
and Means, the Judiciary, and Canals, each of which has 7
members. About 20 reporters are admitted and provided with
seats within the bar. They usually share with members in
extra appropriations for books, and in the privilege of mailing
documents at the public expense.


[Those Counties not enumerated in this list form hut one
District. Fulton and Hamilton form one District.]

ALBANY COUNTY.—Four Districts.

1. 1st Ward of Albany, Bethlehem, Coeymans, New Scotland,

Rensselaerville, and Westerlo.

2. 9th and 10th Wards of Albany, Bern, Guilderland, and Knox.

3. 2d, 3d, 4th, 5th, 6tli, and 8th Wards of Albany.

4. 7th Ward of Albany and Watervliet.


1. Allen, Almond, Angelica, Belfast, Birdsall, Burns, Caneadea,

Centerville, Granger, Grove, Hume, New Hudson, Kushford,
and West Almond.

2. Alfred, Alma, Amity, Andover, Bolivar, Clarksville, Cuba,

Friendship, Genesee, Independence, Scio, Ward, Wellsville,
Willing, and Wirt.


1. Allegany, Ashford, Carrolton, Elgin, Farmersville, Franklin-
ville, Freedom, Hinsdale, Humphrey, Ischua,

Olean, Portville, and Yorkshire.


This page was written in HTML using a program written in Python 3.2